Everything Is Joy


This is an invitation to look within. Forget about the pain and the joy in the world. Forget there is a world outside of you and befriend the world within.

Have a seat. It will be a wild ride.

Find a quite place, sit your body. Tame your body and your mind will follow.

Sit with it.

Pain. Grief.

Anger. Resentment.

Sit with it.

Feel it fill your heart with blackness. Pumping blackness into your body, your mind, poisoning it.

Morbid. Fear.

Sit with it. Welcome to the human suffering.

Joy with be next.

Peace.

Take a deep breath. Sit with it.

Close your eyes. Breathe. Imagine your heart turning fiery red.

Love.

Feeling alive. Rushing through your body.

Desire will follow.

Longing.

Sit with it. See your Ego judge every moment you sit. Every word you speak.

Calm.

Calm your mind.

Sit with it.

Everything is transient. Like the trains at a station.

Through your breath discover the truth. Everything hurts. Everything is joy. Everything is transient.

Open your eyes. Stand up. Stretch.

Go about your day.

Do it all over again.

5 Comments on “Everything Is Joy”

  1. I really like this one Elvita, it’s different than your typical prose. Meditative, rhythmical, mimics the breathing. If I could make time to do this every morning, I think I’d find myself in a better place. Well done! I also have a confession, I posted to another blog how much that person motivated me to get off my ass and start my own, and yet I really owe you the same. I’ve been thinking about this for a long time and dragging my butt, until I started reading yours and chatting about it with you, which then propelled me to action. So, simply, thanks for that!

  2. You’re welcome 🙂

    In my experience people write when they feel passionate about the topic. I’m glad you found something to write about. You have a gift so I’m glad you’re using it. Your writing inspires me.

  3. tcredle says:

    I enjoy reading your blog, and nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out here:
    http://lifeaisle.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/mr-versatile/

  4. Jay says:

    I did try the whole meditation approach that seemed to come through with this post but I find myself stuck at the anger phase, I cant seem to let it go almost as if it is a part of who I am or who I have become, which sucks for me. I just cant seem to let it go.

  5. hllwrds79 says:

    Hi Jay, I hear your frustration but anger is just an emotion, not a part of who you are. If you can picture a tall, solid, old tree, you are the trunk and the branches. The wind may blow, the rain may fall, the sun may shine, seasons come and go, leaves fall and flowers bloom but that tree stands there tall unchanged, just simply matured. Your emotions are like leaves, like the wind, like the rain and the sun. They come and go. Just acknowledge your anger, feel it, accept it but if you sit with it long enough it will too pass by you. I think that is the power of meditation, it teaches you that if you don’t react based on your emotions they eventually dissipate. Best of luck!


Leave a Reply

